Posted in inspiration

Who Will Listen?

Expressions are like an ever-flowing stream
Falling freely through our environment,
Generously giving thoughts to our existence ~
It is the voice of many feelings;
The voice of the Spirit.

Author:

Carol was discovered by another writer, who is honored to share her works with you. In the fullness of time, Carol's musings, some of them written nearly twenty years ago, have emerged. She allows them to be shared with a still seeking and grateful heart.

10 thoughts on “Who Will Listen?

  1. I have to say that I really love this…Christians in particular seem to least understand how their feelings can be clue-ins to the workings of the Holy Spirit, especially if the feelings happen to be negative. Since we live in a world that is lost and blind, if we feel negative things, why do we remain deaf to the call of the Spirit, and fail to intercede?

  2. I think that most don’t understand the feelings of intercession..or what intercession is or if they do are afraid to tap in on them…and Cami, as you say, when the feelings are negative we are deaf to the spirit..I am no whizz at intercession, and still have great difficulties handling the negative ones..but the negative feelings are the most important, especially when I am aware of who the feelings belong to.

  3. I am certainly still trying to figure out the ‘feelings of intercession’. I have witnessed my pastor’s wife as she is suddenly overcome with tears and she will know on her heart that someone in the group she is addressing is stuggling with unforgiveness, or pain or condemnation or something specific put on her heart. She will start quoting scripture that seems to cover the women like a salve on an open wound. She doesn’t seem to know who specifically in the group needed that Word but she prays it over everyone there. It is such an amazing thing to witness and invariable one or more ladies will speak up at the end that her Words and prayers ministered deeply to them. Is this sort of what you and Cami are referring to when you talk about intercessory feelings? Sometimes I do feel burdened in unexplainable ways and all I know to do is to take those feelings to the feet of Jesus. I don’t think I am quite in the place that you all describe but I do feel called to intercessory prayer.

    God Bless!
    Scotti

  4. If it is of beauty than you know it is always the voice of the Spirit Being expressed.
    I like the first line. Beautiful imagery.

    Expressions are like an ever-flowing stream

  5. Scotti:

    I do believe you are called to be an intercessor because you are so sincerely drawn to this message. I used to think that everyone was called to be an intercessor–Paul did say after all, in scripture, “pray without ceasing.” This is something every believer should do; continually commit our ways to the Lord–but intercession is different somehow.

    My detailed message regarding Intercessory Feelings is posted at my site, Lindenville Devotions, under the Intercession & Feelings link–it’s the last article, the long one. Although my eyes were opened to Intercessory Feelings in a poignant manner in 1994, it wasn’t until 1997 that God gave me someone specifically to intercede for, clueing me in with discerning feelings. Without the knowledge of the Spirit pressing in on my own emotions, I could not have pegged the need according to God’s will by my prayers. And let me add, when the Spirit works this way through our hearts it serves to purify us.

    So it’s sad that the idea of intercessory feelings is largely foreign to believers. I have come to feel that they are influenced to look on the worldly counterfeit of the psychic mind-set, and mistakenly forget that God is the author of all things–Satan can only pervert what is true since he can’t create anything. Besides, there is a world of difference between a psychic listening in to the whisperings of demons and repeating them, and the calling of an intercessor! We must consider the source as opposed to The Source!

    Your pastor’s wife certainly has a gift of discernment, and discernment does work in conjuction with intercession–it certainly makes the arrows shoot straighter at the need, if you will.

  6. I have been a bit out of bloggin for awhile..I Had my mum come and stay for a few days, she hasn’t been well, and needed some TLC..

    Thankyou all for popping by..Scotti I hope Cami was able to answer your question and you were able to head off to her blog and read Intercessory Feelings posted at her site.. 🙂

  7. Hi Carol, welcome back! Yes, I am very blessed by Cami’s response and want to spend more time reading her jounal entry.

    Love and God Bless!
    Scotti

Leave a Reply

