Posted in inspiration

From Long Ago

An ancient boundary fence
Lies broken and tattered,
A rusty gate stands ajar;
The worn out path of bygone days
Still welcomes visitors
To its peaceful refuge.
A lonely old bench waits alone,
Holding onto many secrets
And prayers of generations
That have come and gone.
White lilies and purple tulips
Envelope the path,
Wildflowers dance across
The meadows, capturing the warmth
From the spring sunshine.
Wisteria vines embrace
Ancient gum trees with tenderness,
Each branch reaching up to the sky;
Holding onto the gift of nature
God created long ago.

Author:

Carol was discovered by another writer, who is honored to share her works with you. In the fullness of time, Carol's musings, some of them written nearly twenty years ago, have emerged. She allows them to be shared with a still seeking and grateful heart.

11 thoughts on “From Long Ago

  1. Carol, I read these words and they could almost describe one of my photos from Ireland. Oh how lovely. But your words go deeper and these speak to me:

    A lonely old bench waits alone,
    Holding onto many secrets
    And prayers of generations
    That have come and gone.

    How beautiful.

    I think your words are much like a photo.

  2. Hi, Francine, Joy and Maxine, thankyou for dropping in…

    The poem was written from a photograph I took on my recent break away we visited a century old plus gardens, only normally visited by the very wealthy, each year they open it to the public, just about everything is still set out as it was in 1900. I took quite a few photos and didn’t realise just how pretty some of the photos turned out. One happened to be the rusty old gate, another with the bench along the path..the gardens were just beautiful and even though there was a lot of drizzle coming down and a wild wind it was still beautiful and relaxing, just what I needed..

    And Francine I could see how you could envisage it to be like Ireland, this part of our country was settled by the Irish and English, mostly convicts….Because it is a colder climate, not like Sydney, many English trees have settled onto the climate making it look very like English gardens..

  3. Hi Carol,

    What an inspiring photo and your poem is really meaningful. Look out because you will have a job in December or early January helping me prepare a liturgy for our Chapter in late January and I want to use you photo and the poem in the liturgy. I’ve always got jobs for you but this one yhou will really enjoy!!! See you early in the morning when you will be all bushy tailed and sparkling eyes!!!

  4. Hi Margaret,
    Did I mention I am going away on a long vacation from December to late January !!!! πŸ™‚ no just kidding…You know I will always help you out… did I just say that !!!..

    I sent you the two photos by the way; so you can really see how they inspired the poem..

    I really don’t think I will be too bushy tailed and bright eyed, early morning , blurry eyed maybe.. πŸ™‚

  5. hello dear friend,
    it was nice of U to have stopped by, thank U πŸ˜‰

    AWESOME poem!

    I had always wondered , if stuff like that form your poem could talk , what they could tell!

    blessings πŸ™‚ and huggs

    hope U R well!

Leave a Reply

