Posted in inspiration

Pay attention to God’s Nudges

Often we say “yes” to a request to pray for someone and more than often we will. However, I must admit that there are times when I just completely forget to include the request in my prayers for the day…

When my children were little I found it a battle at times for them to clean up their rooms, do their homework, bath etc., many times I would have to give them a nudge; sometimes a soft nudge others a firmer one. I would help them to get started and they would happily ( mostly) continue along until something distracted them, like a toy they had not seen for sometime, or it was time for a special tv show or they were hungry anything to sidetrack them from finishing my request. In our house it was homework, cleanup and bath before TV. Many times my nudges didn’t work with them and it ended up with tears and promises and punishments.

Just as it was with my children through out the day I can feel God as my father, nudging me, reminding me to stop and do it right now..and pray, pray especially for special requests. ” Just don’t say you will pray, do it” Stop what you are doing now and feel God nudging you.050909 011

Author:

Carol was discovered by another writer, who is honored to share her works with you. In the fullness of time, Carol's musings, some of them written nearly twenty years ago, have emerged. She allows them to be shared with a still seeking and grateful heart.

7 thoughts on “Pay attention to God’s Nudges

  1. I love the analogy you make about when your kids were little, and how they would become distracted over listening to your words – it is exactly what happens to us when we don’t pay attention to the Spirit. What a great admonition; to pray – DO it – when He puts a need on our hearts!

  2. “I know the feeling”, so the expression goes. Having experienced those things you have, it gave me a time to ponder in my solitary moment how God feels for us each time we displeased HIM. It is no difference how we feel towards our children. Oftentimes we lost patience too. Even so, I may sound crazy, but I still love Motherhood and Parenthood as the best vocation I could never imagine I wouldn’t have. As there is no perfect family in this world, just make do with lots of love and continue to enjoy your children with lots of love: firm but kind. 🙂

  3. Yes Bonnie, I think that all parents know this feeling. I would never trade mother hood, it is a very rewarding vocation. No one is perfect as you say. My children are adults now and are becoming parents themselves, I pray that they enjoy parent hood as much as I have .

  4. Thanks for your words Carol. Like you, God has shown me to stop and pray as soon as I’m asked to pray for someone but am really conscious of Him “having a word in my ear” to nudge me into praying and listen to Him from then on. Great how you tied it in with our children in the day.

Leave a Reply

