Posted in inspiration

” There was a Crooked Man”

“There was a crooked man and he walked a crooked mile,
He found a crooked sixpence upon a crooked stile.
He bought a crooked cat, which caught a crooked mouse.
And they all lived together in a little crooked house”
…Author unknown

Last night I did not get too much sleep, this nursery rhyme wouldn’t leave my head. This morning I was lead to read Isaiah 40. It wasn’t until I reached verse 4 that I found the connection with the Rhyme .

“Every valley shall be exalted, and every mountain and hill shall be made low: and the crooked shall be made straight, and the rough places plain.”   Isaiah 40 verse 4 DSC04741

The origin of the Nursery rhyme “There was a crooked man” stems from British history around the time of King Charles 1. (1600’s)The crooked man was said to be Scottish General Sir Alexander Leslie. He signed a Covenant securing religious and political freedom for Scotland.The Crooked Stile” was the border between England and Scotland.” They all lived together in a little crooked house refers to the fact that the English and Scots had at last come to an agreement. The words reflect the times when there was great animosity between them.

It makes me stop and think of times when I have been angry or been in disagreement with someone , be it a neighbour, a friend, a relative or someone I don’t know personally. Its easy to take crooked turns and damage relationships. WE need to mend what is crooked in our lives and not go through life with a crooked heart. It is so easy to cool off, take the time to think about what has happened and make what is crooked straight.

Straighten out our failures and forgive ; come to an agreement as did The English and the Scots and rid ourselves of animosity amongst ourselves.


Author:

Carol was discovered by another writer, who is honored to share her works with you. In the fullness of time, Carol's musings, some of them written nearly twenty years ago, have emerged. She allows them to be shared with a still seeking and grateful heart.

14 thoughts on “” There was a Crooked Man”

  1. Hmm.. I agree with you that we’ve got to come to an agreement and make all crooked relationships straight. But certain people just won’t come to an agreement ..even when you try all the possible ways to make peace with them. Lol

    Nice post!

    Martin.

  2. Hi Martin, you know you are right in saying some just don’t want to make peace..We can only be an example to them by setting examples of love and forgiveness.

  3. Hi, Kim, I miss chatting too, I see you on face book sometimes, maybe we can one day meet up on FB chat. The time difference gets in our way a little bit.. Thankyou for the invitation to borrow anything from your blog… it wasn’t me who had asked.

  4. I learned something from this post Carol.. the history behind the rhyme 🙂 But there’s more, its the lesson behind the text and the sincerity it contained.

  5. Thanks Roms, for visiting.

    I find it interesting knowing the stories behind nursery rhymes.. I think that we can learn from many once we discover the history behind the rhymes. My little grand daughter loves for me to bounce her on my knee and sing Humpty Dumpty, She especially likes the falling down and swaying on my knee.The song has nothing to do with an egg falling off a wall… hmm this could be another post

  6. I have heard this nursery rhyme but have never been told the origin. That may be something that I will research for my blog. It would be very interesting to know why these rhymes came into being and to then tie them in to scripture. Thank you for a glorious idea. I too have been gone for about a month but it will be very good to see something new from you in the near future.

    God Bless and Happy Holidays,
    Mimmy

  7. Oh my its been such a long time since my last post.Next Year I will try to make my posts more frequent. I wish you all a blessed Christmas and a very Happy New Year. Safe travelling,and blessings to you all

    Thank you Troy for the link to Funny Christmas songs.

  8. I can’t tell you how many times God gave me that scripture during my seperation w/ my husband. The odd thing was when I realzied he gave me that word while we were only dating then bombarded it to me during our separation. I don’t know exactly what he will straighten out.. me, him or us.. but I’m trusting that He’ll just do it b/c He said he would.. thanks

Leave a Reply

